Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo secures a second term as President

The New Patriotic Party’s(NPP’s) Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been declared as the winner of this year’s election.

This gives the President a second term to manage the affairs of the country.

The President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who led the New Patriotic Party to the victory garnered 6,730,413 of the votes cast which represents 51.59% of the total votes cast.

The opposition led by John Dramani Mahama garnered 6,214,889 of the votes cast which represents 47.36% of the total ballots cast.

Total valid votes cast according to the Electoral Commission was 13,434,574 representing 79% of total registered voters.

This election is the third time John Dramani Mahama has come up against the New Patriotic Party’s Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Nana Addo won the 2016 and has won the 2020 election whiles John Dramani Mahama won the election held in 2012.

This will be the last time the NPP’s Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo will contest against John Dramani Mahama as he will not be able to contest for the election in the future.

Source: Ayeh Offei-Akoto/2020