Electoral Commission removes 17 political parties from register

The Electoral Commission (EC) has removed 17 political parties from Ghana’s political party register for failing to meet its requirements as stated by the law.

The affected political parties are Ward Nuako Brew’s Democratic People’s Party (DPP) Nana Agyenim Boateng Gyatab’s United Front Party (UFP), United Development System (UDSP), Owuraku Amofa’s Every Ghanaian Living Everywhere (EGLE),

Yes People’s Party (YPP), Charles Wereko Brobby’s United Ghana Movement (UGM), Obed Asamoah’s Democratic Freedom Party (DFP) and Prophet Nkansah’s New Vision Party (NVP).

Other parties are Ghana Democratic Republican Party (GDRP), Ghana National Party (GNP), Power Unity Party (PUP), AKwasi Addai Odike’s United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwabena Adjei Bambata’s Reform Patriotic Democrats (RPD), People’s Action Party (PAP), Kofi Wayo’s United Renaissance Party (URP), Goosie Tanoh’s National Reform Party (NRP) and Ramon Osei Akoto’s United Love Party (ULP).

This follows a nationwide exercise to inspect the offices of all registered political parties in Ghana embarked on by the EC between May and June 2022.

However, after the exercise, the EC invoked Section 15 (3) (c) of the Political Parties Act of 2000, Act 574, which mandates it to cancel the registration of Political Parties which do not have offices at the National and Regional levels.

“The general public is hereby informed that the registration certificates of the underlisted political parties have been cancelled in accordance with Section 15 (3) (c) of the Political Parties Law, 2000 (Act 574) effective the 1st day of November 2022.”